Choose Site


Power & Pipes

FERC, CFTC, and State Energy Law Developments

On October 24, US President Donald Trump designated Commissioner Neil Chatterjee as the new chairman of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission. Commissioner Chatterjee, a Republican, replaces Commissioner Kevin McIntyre, also a Republican, as chairman of the Commission. Senate confirmation is not required for this chairman designation. Commissioner McIntyre served as Chairman of the Commission for close to a year after he was confirmed by the Senate on November 2, 2017. Commissioner McIntyre had sent a letter to President Trump earlier this week, indicating that he would be stepping down due to health concerns.

Commissioner Chatterjee issued a statement wherein he was appreciative of the designation and acknowledged Commissioner McIntyre’s commitment to furthering FERC’s continuing goals and objectives. Commissioner Chatterjee stated, “It is with a heavy heart that I step into this role while my friend and colleague, Kevin McIntyre, focuses on what’s most important: his recovery and his family. I am confident that the Commission will continue to benefit from his consummate knowledge of the law and of energy policy through his service as Commissioner.”