Choose Site

Webinars

2019 Technology May-rathon: Japan's Patent Law 2019: Strengthening the Patent Litigation System

Monday, June 17, 2019
09:00 AM - 10:00 AM PT
12:00 PM - 01:00 PM ET
Tuesday, June 18, 2019
01:00 AM - 02:00 AM JST

Please join us for an update on recent developments in Japanese patent law. The Japanese Patent Office, with its first woman commissioner, Naoko Munakata, is trying to strengthen its patent litigation system. We will focus on the Japanese Patent Act’s 2019 revisions, which were just approved in May by the Japanese Diet.

With this reform now written into law, Japan could be on its way to becoming a more patentee-friendly jurisdiction, and might be a good candidate for future patent litigation. We will compare and discuss in-depth aspects of the Japanese system vs. the US system, as well as the pros and cons of litigating in each jurisdiction.

Questions?

Please email Dave Fendig.

CLE credit: CLE credit in CA, FL, IL, NJ (via reciprocity), NY, PA, TX, and VA is currently pending approval.