Choose Site

Webinars

Privacy Rights at a Crossroads: Parallel Enforcement of “Consumer Control” by Privacy Regulators and Antitrust Authorities

Watch the presentation >>  |  View the slides >>

Thursday, May 14, 2020
11:00 AM - 12:00 PM ET
05:00 PM - 06:00 PM CEST
04:00 PM - 05:00 PM BST
08:00 AM - 09:00 AM PT

The GDPR has deepened awareness of privacy rights for consumers, but the perceived lack of true “consumer control” is still an area of enforcement activity for privacy regulators. At the same time “consumer control” has become an area of parallel antitrust enforcement. We will discuss why privacy and competition regulators are increasingly interested in the volume of consumer personal data controlled by technology providers, given their position of power in the market.

CLE credit: CLE credit in CA, FL, IL, NJ (via reciprocity), NY, PA, TX, and VA is currently pending approval.