Choose Site

Webinars

Understanding Fintech Initiatives and Regulation in the UAE

Watch the presentation >>  |  View the slides >>

June 3, 2020
6:00–7:00 AM PT
9:00 AM–10:00 AM ET
5:00–6:00 PM GST (UAE time)


Join us for a discussion on the legal regimes, regulatory frameworks, and government-backed initiatives that have enabled the United Arab Emirates (UAE) to become a leading digital economy hub in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region.  Mark Gilligan, Jay Gladis, Victoria Mesquita Wlazlo, and Joanna Maria El Khoury will discuss the legal and regulatory frameworks governing virtual assets and digital securities in the UAE and its financial free zones. 

Topics will include:

  • General introduction to the legal and regulatory framework in the UAE and Abu Dhabi Global Market (ADGM)
  • Using the free zones in Dubai and Abu Dhabi as domiciles for fintech companies (Dubai, Silicon Oasis, Dubai Multi Commodities Center, and ADGM)
  • The government’s role in promoting the digital economy
  • The ADGM’s regulatory frameworks governing virtual assets and digital securities

Questions? Please contact Ashley Bowman.