COVID-19 in Kazakhstan: Government Resolution on Certain Immigration Issues

April 23, 2020

In connection with the current national state of emergency, Republic of Kazakhstan Prime Minister Askar Mamin signed Resolution of the Government No. 220 on Certain Issues of Entry into (Exit from) the Republic of Kazakhstan and the Stay of Immigrants in the Republic of Kazakhstan on April 17, suspending the effect of certain norms of the law providing visa-free travel regime for citizens of specific countries.

The resolution has suspended the effect of Clause 17 of the Rules of Entry and Stay of Immigrants in the Republic of Kazakhstan, as well as Their Exit from the Republic of Kazakhstan (the Rules) until 1 November 2020, which means the suspension of the 30-day visa-free regime for citizens of the following 57 countries: Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Bulgaria, Vatican, Great Britain, Hungary, Vietnam, Germany, Greece, Denmark, Israel, Indonesia, Ireland, Iceland, Spain, Italy, Canada, Cyprus, Colombia, Korea, Kuwait, Latvia, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, United Arab Emirates, Oman, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, United States, Thailand, Turkey, Philippines, Finland, France, Croatia, Czech Republic, Chile, Switzerland, Sweden, Estonia, and Japan.[1]

At the same time, visa-free travel regimes for citizens of countries not listed in the Rules, including countries visa-free travel regimes for which were enforced on other grounds (e.g., on the basis of international treaties), are not suspended by the resolution, including for the citizens of countries such as Azerbaijan, Argentina, Armenia, Belarus, Brazil, Hong Kong, Georgia, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Mongolia, Russia, Serbia, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, Ukraine, and Ecuador.

In addition, the resolution has extended until 1 November 2020 the suspension of the 72-hour visa-free travel regime for citizens of China and India traveling in transit through the international airports of Nur-Sultan, Almaty, Shymkent, Aktau, Karaganda, and Taraz. 

Coronavirus COVID-19 Task Force

For our clients, we have formed a multidisciplinary Coronavirus COVID-19 Task Force to help guide you through the broad scope of legal issues brought on by this public health challenge. We also have launched a resource page to help keep you on top of developments as they unfold. If you would like to receive a daily digest of all new updates to the page, please subscribe now to receive our COVID-19 alerts.


If you have any questions or would like more information on the issues discussed in this LawFlash, please contact the following members of our corporate and business transactions practice:

Aset Shyngyssov

[1] Cl. 17 of the Rules of Entry and Stay of Immigrants in the Republic of Kazakhstan, as well as Their Exit from the Republic of Kazakhstan, approved by the Resolution of the Government of the Republic of Kazakhstan No. 148 dated 12 January 2012.