Choose Site

Webinars

Navigating China’s New Blocking Statute and the US Foreign Corrupt Practices Act

Wednesday, June 23, 2021
09:30 PM - 12:30 AM ET
06:30 PM - 09:30 PM PT

Thursday, June 24, 2021
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM China Time (Beijing)


China’s Ministry of Commerce (MOFCOM) published the Rules on Counteracting Unjustified Extraterritorial Application of Foreign Legislation and Other Measures (the Blocking Statute) on January 2021. The Blocking Statute appears to be intended to deter multinational companies (MNCs) and their China subsidiaries from complying with foreign sanctions against Chinese persons.

Please join our partners based in the United States and China to discuss recent US federal legislative and executive actions related to China, US government actions leading to Chinese blocking statutes, the expanded definition of industry relevant to US national security, and the new Blocking Statute and its impact on MNCs in China, as well as to address the obligations placed on MNCs and their China-based affiliates and offer best practices for ensuring compliance.

In this webinar, we will also discuss the current trends and legislative updates for US Foreign Corrupt Practices Act and corporate investigations.

TOPICS WILL INCLUDE:

  • Recent US federal legislative and executive actions related to China
  • Basics of the Blocking Statute
  • US government actions leading to Chinese blocking statutes
  • Implications of the Blocking Statute on MNC operations in China, including:
    • Obligations placed on MNCs and their China-based affiliates
    • The impact on affiliated entities
    • Affirmative reporting obligations
  • Trends and legislative updates for US Foreign Corrupt Practices Act and corporate investigations

If you would like to receive a copy of the recording please contact Summer Zhu.