Webinars

An Introduction to Shenzhen: China’s Technology Mega-City

Watch the recording >>  |  View the slides >>

May 18, 2020
01:00 PM - 02:00 PM ET
06:00 PM - 07:00 PM GMT
10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

To understand China’s emergence as a technology leader, one must understand Shenzhen—China’s version of Silicon Valley—and the surrounding Pearl River Delta. Dedicated as a Special Economic Zone in 1979, Shenzhen grew from a small fishing village into a city of 12 million people, and a center of technology manufacturing and innovation.

Shenzhen manufactures 90% of the world’s electronics, and is home to some of China’s most innovative companies. Shenzhen’s Pearl River Delta neighbor, Guangzhou, has become a biopharmaceutical hub as China emerges as the world’s second largest pharmaceutical market.

In this webinar, we will tell the story of the astonishing transformation of Shenzhen and the Pearl River Delta, with a particular focus on the region’s role in technology and biotech innovation, and the significance of the region for US patent practice and litigation.

Looking forward, we will discuss the Chinese government’s Great Bay Area initiative, which encompasses Shenzhen, Hong Kong, Macao, and surrounding cities. We will also cover the extent to which the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic has affected the region and related government initiatives.

CLE credit: CLE credit in CA, CT, FL, IL, NJ (via reciprocity), NY, PA, TX, and VA is currently pending approval.