Press Release

Morgan Lewis Recognized in LMG Life Sciences 2021 Americas Awards

Wednesday, September 29, 2021

NEW YORK, September 29, 2021: Morgan Lewis partners Michael Abernathy and Jacqueline Berman were honored at the LMG Life Sciences 2021 Americas Awards, recognizing firms, individuals, and companies behind the “most innovative and challenging life sciences work of the last year, as well as those driving the international market.” Michael was named General Patent Litigator of the Year – Midwest and Jacqueline was honored as US Rising Star – Regulatory.

As co-leader of the firm’s life sciences industry team and intellectual property disputes practice, Michael advises corporations on the Biologics Price Competition and Innovation Act, the Hatch-Waxman Act, strategic use of IP assets, post-grant review, licensing programs, and patent due diligence issues. As an experienced first-chair trial lawyer, Michael has successfully tried biopharma and technology cases to juries across the United States. He also has litigated emergency injunction proceedings involving pharmaceuticals and medical devices.

Jacqueline advises clients, including pharmaceutical, device, and biologic companies, on US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) regulatory, compliance, and enforcement issues, as well as clinical trials and FDA-regulated product development programs. She also counsels clients on the safety, labeling, and reporting requirements for consumer products under the laws enforced by the US Consumer Product Safety Commission, the Federal Trade Commission, and related state enforcement agencies.

In addition to the two noted accolades, Morgan Lewis was shortlisted in four firm and five other individual categories:

  • Antitrust Firm of the Year
  • Government Investigations Firm of the Year
  • Life Cycle Firm of the Year – United States
  • Regulatory Firm of the Year
  • Patent Strategy Attorney of the Year – Midwest – Christopher Betti
  • Regulatory Attorney of the Year: FDA Medical Device – Michele Buenafe
  • Licensing & Collaboration Attorney of the Year – Alan Leeds
  • Government Investigations Attorney of the Year – Scott Memmott
  • Antitrust Practitioner of the Year – Steven Reed

Award results are determined through a multi-step process involving in-depth submissions, practitioner interviews, client feedback, and independent research.